Our people

We are committed to advancing educational opportunity and social well-being.

Our team is comprised of specialists in research and policy, student programmes, grants management and operations, communications, office services and finance and investment.

Our Trustees
  • Chair
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
  • Trustee
I am delighted to take up the role of Chair of the Nuffield Foundation which is a wonderful charitable organisation focused on promoting social well-being through the use of research and innovation in education and social policy.” Professor Sir Keith Burnett
Leadership team
  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Director, Education
  • Director, Justice
  • Mark-Franks-Nuffield-Foundation-Together-alone-connecting-individual-and-collective-well-being-through-our-work-in-welfare
    Director, Welfare
  • Fran Bright
    Head of Communications
  • Director, HR and Office Services
  • Director, Finance and Information Systems
  • Cross Cutting Project Lead, Early Childhood
  • Director, Ada Lovelace Institute
  • Director, Nuffield Family Justice Observatory
  • Hugh Whittall
    Director, Nuffield Council on Bioethics
Research team
  • Programme Head, Education
  • Programme Head, Education
  • Eleanor Ireland
    Programme Head, Education
  • Ash Patel
    Programme Head, Justice
  • Programme Head, Welfare
  • Alex Beer
    Senior Consultant, Welfare
  • Researcher
  • Researcher
Grant operations team
  • Rowena Mitchell
    Grants Operations Team Leader
  • Grainne Murray
    Grants Coordinator
  • Ed McKiernan
    Grants Coordinator
  • Christopher Milton
    Grants Coordinator
  • Jenny Akhurst
    Grants Support Administrator
  • Randeep Sembi
    Office Administrator
Communications team
  • Claire Sewell
    Senior Communications Officer
  • Molly Imrie
    Events and Communications Officer
  • Lillie Gredley
    Digital Projects Manager
Student programmes team
  • Sharmila Metcalf
    Head of Nuffield Research Placements
  • Steve Grundy
    Programme Manager, Q-Step
  • Megan Lawrence
    Student Programmes Coordinator
Office services team
  • Kate Evans
    Office Manager
  • Janine Larson
    HR and Central Services Administrator
  • Rose McFarlane
  • Graham Hopper
    Interim HR Partner
  • Michelle Clarke
  • Vicky Nash
    Executive Assistant
Investment, finance and systems team
  • Investment Director
  • Gideon Barnard
    Grants Finance Partner
  • Dot Hare
    Financial Controller
  • Anand Bhatt
    Finance Administrator
  • Elaine Graham-Leigh
    Information Governance and Systems Officer
  • Chris Wilby
    Programme Support Officer
  • Bill Brotherton
    Finance Systems Accountant
  • Dylan James
    Systems Administrator
  • Gemma Jenkins
    Financial Controller

Work for the Nuffield Foundation

We often have opportunities for people who are committed to advancing educational opportunity and social well-being to join our team.