Professor David Rhind appointed Chair of the Nuffield Foundation

23 June 2010

The Nuffield Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor David Rhind as Chair of its Board of Trustees.

Professor Rhind is a renowned geographer and social scientist, though he was originally trained as an earth scientist. He is currently Chair of the government’s Advisory Panel on Public Sector Information and Chair of Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust Board. He is also a board member of the UK Statistics Authority and has previously held posts as a Director on the Court of the Bank of England and Vice Chancellor and President of City University in London.

Until 1998, Professor Rhind was Director General of the Ordnance Survey and oversaw the creation of the world’s first national digital topographic database. He has been a member of the Economic and Social Research Council and Chaired the Academy of Social Sciences’ Commission on the Social Sciences, which was influential in promoting quantitative training for social sciences.

Professor Rhind holds the rare distinction of being both an elected Fellow of the Royal Society and an honorary Fellow of the British Academy.

Commenting on his appointment Professor Rhind said:

“The Nuffield Foundation has a reputation as an independent and intellectually rigorous funder. Its Trustees are of the highest calibre. During my time as a Trustee I have seen its hugely positive impact in areas of social policy, science and education. Unsurprisingly therefore I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead that work over the next few years.”

Professor Rhind has been a Trustee of the Foundation since 2008 and has been appointed Chair by his fellow Trustees. He succeeds Baroness Onora O’Neill, who has served as Chair since 1997.


For further information contact Frances Bright on 0207 681 9586 or

Notes for editors
1. Professor David Rhind’s term as Chair will begin on 1 October 2010. Trustees are appointed for an initial term of five years, with a maximum term of twelve years.

2. Trustees of the Nuffield Foundation
The Baroness O’Neill CBE FBA FRS (Chair until 31 September 2010)
Mr Andrew Dilnot CBE
Dr Peter Doyle CBE FRSE
Professor Lord Krebs Kt FRS
Professor Genevra Richardson LLB, LLM, CBE
Professor David Rhind CBE FRS Hon FBA (Chair from 1 October 2010)
Professor Sir David Watson MA PhD

3. The Nuffield Foundation is one of the UK's best known charitable trusts, established in 1943 by William Morris (Lord Nuffield), the founder of Morris Motors. Our aim is to improve social well-being in the widest sense. We fund research and innovation in social policy and education, particularly in science, technology, engineering and maths. We also work to build capacity in education, science and social science research, primarily in the UK, but also in Europe and Africa.